Watermelon-Arugula Salad


This recipe is a creation of my friend Alledew. She has prepared it multiple times, and I devour it every time she does. Watermelon is in its peak season in August. As last year, my CSA (Lancaster Farm Fresh) has been sending lots of (BIG) watermelons every week, so we have been eating this delicious fruit in as many ways as possible. I of course had to try Alledew’s watermelon-arugula salad. It is very easy to prepare. You do not really need to measure the ingredients. Just toss arugula, feta cheese crumbles, and diced watermelon, in a bowl. Combine the ingredients, pour olive oil, and season with salt and pepper. The tangy flavor of arugula blends great with the sweet watermelon and the salty and creamy feta cheese. I’m sure you will love this salad!

On a non-related food note, big news from this side of the screen: I have completed my graduate degree! I’m very happy about it! I have been absent from the blog because I was thesis-writing (read my thesis :) you can find it here), preparing for comps and wrapping up with everything. In between, I have been training for the Army Ten Miler in October; I went to Mexico to visit my family and to Disney World, so it’s been a hectic summer.

 Now I’m done with school. I feel so proud.

Leave me a comment if you liked the salad or if you would like to try it.

P.S. Mexican seafood recipes are coming up

7 thoughts on “Watermelon-Arugula Salad

  1. Congratulations on completing your graduate degree! And the salad sounds delicious, especially so on warm summer days. I believe I know Alledew but have never had this salad. I will now. :-)

    1. Thanks Rick! You should definitely try the salad, specially because is Alledew’s creation. Looking forward to seeing y’all in a couple of weeks :)

  2. The salad looks delicious, Kaluz! I have never tasted a yellow watermelon before. Do they taste the same as pink ones?? Are they the same texture? Congrats on finishing your thesis!

Leave a Reply

