Everyday Vegetarian


SAM_0523

I’ve been waiting for Everyday Vegetarian to arrive since late April…but a typo on my mailing address had me waiting. I thought it was never sent or lost. But all of the sudden the concierge of my apartment building told me “this package doesn’t have an apartment number but I think it might be yours.”Indeed it was.

What a great surprise! I really like the blog of David Frenkiel and Luise Vindah and their creative vegetarian recipes. I’m not a vegetarian, but I’m into the Meatless Monday/ let’s-try-to-be-sustainable mindset, and I like to convert vegetables into complete and fulfilling meals. I leafed through everyday vegetarian to see what I could prepare for lunch and I selected their quinoa and cauliflower cakes with ramps (see recipe below), as I had all the ingredients handy (from my CSA!). Even Humberto, who hates cauliflower, liked the cakes. Enough said.

Whatever type of meal you are thinking to prepare, David and Luise have recipes on their book (and blog) from breakfast to family dinners to sweets and treats. I liked that the recipes are clearly organized and easy to find, and of course, illustrated with mouth-watering pictures with a rural happy-home feel. The resulting dishes are fulfilling, something that I always find lacking in vegetarian entreés.  I also liked that they use whole ingredients, alternative flours, no refined sugar, and very little diary.

The great thing about David and Luise’s recipes is that you do not need to sacrifice flavor for health… Can you imagine a pizza crust made of cauliflower florets? Noodles made of zucchini, or a beet bourguignon? They do and they do it well.  I had a bunch of fennel that came in my vegetable CSA share and had no idea what to do with it. I was done with the fennel smoothies and fennel salads… but what else could I do with fennel? Little did I know that fennel goes well with coconut and nutmeg until I prepared David and Luise’s fennel and coconut tarts.

On top of great food you will also get heart-warming stories about life in Sweden, tips, and food (and life) choices; more in the blog than in the book, but still, you can easily relate to the stories and they definitely talk back to you. You can almost hear David and Luise talk throughout the book. Everyday Vegetarian is such an inspiration for us food bloggers. If you are thinking of incorporating more vegetables in your diet, Everyday Vegetarian is a great option to start with. Maybe you can start like me, with a meatless Monday. Find out more about the book and the blog here.

In other news, I was awarded a prize for my blog de recetas! It was such a pleasure to receive it…you can read more about the prize here.  I still have to pass it on and award the prize to 15 of my favorite Spanish language blogs. I’ll do it soon. In the mean time, THANKS so much for reading me. It is an amazing feeling. If you like my writing, you can check out my other blog, where I write stories mostly about life in DC and everywhere I go. It is mostly written in Spanish and slowly coming to life.

Ingredients

–          1 cup white quinoa

–          1 and 2/3 cups cauliflower florets

–          1 large handful wild garlic or ramps, coarsely chopped

–          4 large eggs

–          1 and 1/3 cups crumbled feta cheese

–          ¾ cup rolled oats

–          Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

–          2 tbsp coconut oil or olive oil for frying

Method

  1. Cook the quinoa: combine 2 ¼ cups water, the quinoa and a pinch of salt in a medium-sized saucepan. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and gently simmer for about 15 minutes, or until you see small tiles on the quinoa seeds. Drain any excess and set aside to cool.
  2. Place the cauliflower in a food processor in a food processor and pulse until its rice-like texture. Transfer to a bowl.
  3. Add quinoa, ramps, eggs, feta, oats, and salt and pepper. Stir until well combined. Place in the fridge to set for 30 minutes.
  4. Form the mixture into patties, you can use an ice-cream scoop.
  5. Heat the oil in a large frying pan on medium heat, fry patties until golden brown or about 3 to 4 minutes. Flip carefully and fry the other side.
  6. Drain on paper towels.
  7. These are delicious served warm or cold.

Thanks so much to Rizzoli New York for sending me a review copy of Everyday Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

